A small January recap

January wasn’t a particularly productive knitting month for me.

DSC01205 DSC01208

I knit a total of 4 hats, including these two that have been shipped off to a friend’s young son who is going thru chemotherapy.   The top one is the Vegamot hat done in Malabrigo silky merino (azules or azul colorway).  The bottom one is the Barley hat done in Malabrigo Rios (piedras colorway).  Both of those are free patterns, and relatively easy to execute.  The vegamot requires a bit more attention just because the purl stitches change location.   I think the Rios is more subtle in real life – the overall feel is greens/browns.  My seventh grade science teacher always wore those colors and referred to them as “earthworm tones.”  The piedras has more variety than that, but it’s not as “rainbowy” as it looks here, I don’t think.  My stash pictures might be better.

I’ve done one month of no yarn buying.  The Knit Picks (and More!) Stashdown group at Ravelry is doing a “tiara” challenge of no acquiring yarn for a year (surprises are allowed, but asking for yarn as gifts isn’t).  Since January’s birthstone is a garnet, I’ll mentally imagine that I have that stone sitting in my crown.

Also in January, I started a blanket that will be a wedding present for a cousin getting married in May.  I have the bottom border done, and started the cable charts today.  I’m concerned these may make me insane since there are two charts and they’re not the same length.  I’m going to knit about a dozen rows and see how I’m feeling about all of it.   The pattern is written to be knit in strips, but I didn’t want to seam it, nor pick up stitches for the borders.  So, I’m knitting it in one piece, with each panel separated with stitch markers.  Wish me luck.

I need to knit some baby hats, too.  I have enough of the rios to make another Barley hat in a wee size, so that will be one of them.  I think I might have enough bits and pieces of some purple superwash to make something else.  I need to go dig around.

How was your January?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

