Yarn Along 2015: Week 7

I’m getting out of the Yarn Along habit, and I’m not happy about it.  It encourages me to update the blog regularly, which means writing regularly, which I really should do.

DSC01222

I have a couple of things I SHOULD be knitting.  The first round of “shoulds” were those hats I knitted.  Now that those are done, I need to move on to knitting a blanket for my cousin’s wedding gift, and I should keep working on Minecraft squares.

I started the blanket using the Gift of Love Cabled Afghan pattern from Bernat/Yarnspirations (free!).  I had grand dreams of growing as a knitter as I did so much seed stitch, juggled cable charts with different row counts, worked in a dark grey yarn, and so on.  And then I found myself avoiding it.  I had to basically force myself to sit down and make notes on the charts, do the math for the stitch counts necessary to knit it in one piece (rather than picking up borders on all four sides), and then actually knit it.   I didn’t want to knit it.  Ever.  I started that Baktus in the picture as a way to knit something I wanted to rather than that blanket.  Not a good way to think about something that’s supposed to be a gift of love for someone I do love.

So, I emailed my aunt (cousin’s mom) to see if she thought cousin would have any issues with getting a blanket in the same pattern as the one I made for her brother (that cream cabled blanket from this past summer).  The yarn will be completely different, but I liked that pattern and, despite also being cabled, it’s easier than the Gift of Love one I had picked for this time.  Aunt thought this was a wonderful idea and said that Girl Cousin is quite sentimental and would really appreciate knowing the same pattern was used for both.  Huzzah!  I printed out the pattern for that (Malabrigo Luxe Cabled Blanket by Sweater Babe) and ripped out what I’d started in the other pattern.  I haven’t begun this new pattern yet, but I’m already feeling more positive about the whole thing.  Yay!

For the Minecraft squares, I’ve decided to keep yarn in my purse just for those.  I’ve been working on them at restaurants or in the car when I’m not driving.  While this is slow progress, it’s still progress.  I know I won’t knit that big cabled blanket out of the house (well, maybe at knitting group, but not at dinner or something), so that’s a pretty decent division of labor.

As for the baktus scarf I started as an avoidance technique… I’m enjoying it.  I had to rip it out at one point because I wasn’t keeping track of when to increase and the effect was not good.  Now I can read the knitting better, but I still use a row counter for piece of mind.  The yarn for that is Feederbrook Farm Plumage that I picked up last summer on vacation.  It was “souvenir yarn” that I bought at Fiber Arts Yarn Shop while we were on vacation in Cape May (that’s a Facebook link – the one they have as a direct link to their store isn’t working).   I thought I had posted about the mess of yarn I bought last summer, but apparently not – I can’t find a post about it.  Anyway.  This was one of the many skeins.  I don’t have a recipient in mind for this; I’m just enjoying the garter stitch.  I knit it mainly in the late evenings, sometimes in bed.

I’m reading Bright Lights, Big City by Jay McInerney.  I just finished The Marco Effect by Jussi Adler-Olsen.  I’ve read all the other “Department Q” books and found them dark but enjoyable.  I think I remember all of them including someone being trapped in a small space, so I kept waiting for that to happen in this book and it didn’t.

How are things with you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

