Yarn Along 2015: Week 20

Oh friends – knitting and I have not been getting along lately.

I had that grey blanket with so much forward progress (even after I ripped back a bunch of rows to fix a mis-crossed cable).  The day before I left to go to my cousin’s wedding, I got out my tape measure and realized it was too narrow.  So, I took it with me on the plane and ripped it all out when I got there.  While I was on the plane, I did the math and planning for how many stitches I would need to make it wider and made tidy notes on an index card (I threw several in my carryon just for this purpose).  Over the week I was in Minnesota for the wedding I was able to cast on all the the stitches again.  I also got all the relatives that were there for the wedding to knit at least one stitch on the blanket.  I did the same thing for her brother’s gift last year.

I had started “Favorite Scarf Ever” with some unknown sock yarn before I left.  I’m not sure where it came from, the labels are long gone, etc.  I was knitting both halves at the same time so that I didn’t end up with second scarf syndrome (??).  The centered double decreases were doing me in, though.  If I made a mistake and tinked back, I’d end up dropping some part of that and wouldn’t notice and well – it was making me nuts.  While I was in Minnesota, I ripped it all out and started again (I’d barely done an inch) and thought I had it well sorted.  At knitting group on Saturday I made another mistake and tried to tink back, dropped stitches and gave up on knitting both halves at the same time.  I completely ripped out the half with the mistake and am now knitting one half at a time.

DSC01264

This picture might not be the best.  The yarn has unusual colors.  The lighter stripes are grey and white.  The darker stripes are a sort of dark eggplant (with maybe a drop of brown?) and olive green.  While I was working on it in MN, my aunt said she loved it.  So, it now has a recipient.  It’s going to need some blocking when I’m done for sure.

I’m listening to Mini Shopaholic by Sophie Kinsella.  I saw Shopaholic to the Stars in the library and was going to read that, but couldn’t remember if I’d read Mini already, so I downloaded both from the library.  Turns out I have read that already, but I’m listening to it again anyway.  It’s good mindless listening.

Despite these knitting issues, I still want to keep knitting.  I’ve had times when I just needed a break, but currently I’m enjoying the process despite all the steps backwards.

Is your handwork cooperating with you this week?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along 2015: Week 20

  1. Such a shame your knitting projects are not going to plan. We all have weeks like that when more gets undone than done. Beautiful looking yarn.

  2. Becki says:

    Even if the yarn colors aren’t showing up accurately, I think that looks lovely. What a neat idea to have the bride and groom’s relatives have a part in the blanket. So cool!

  3. Lucy BOWEN says:

    Love the idea of getting everyone to knit a stitch. Sorry about the trouble the scarf has been giving you, but it looks like it will be worth it!

  4. Pingback: Yarn Along 2016: Week 7 | Digging out of the stash

Leave a Reply

