Yarn Along 2015: Week 26

It’s Yarn Along time once again.

DSC01292

No, the scarf isn’t finished.  I’ve confined it to my purse and am trying to give some more  attention to the grey blanket.  My last progress post about it is here, and then I ripped it all back to make it wider.  I think I need to do 21 rows for the bottom border and I’ve done about 12.

I’m reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  I’ve made it to chapter 8, so I can finally listen to the first episode of Storywonk’s seminar on the book.  It’s feeling like a little bit of a slog for me, so I keep putting it down, and then I can’t keep all the girls straight (which are Bennetts, which are Bingleys, etc).  Argh.  I’m determined to see it thru to the end, though.

I’ve been listening to a mess of audiobooks while I do household things.  There are still a few weeks left in AudiobookSync’s summer of free YA audiobook downloads.  This is week 9 of 14, and new weeks start on Thursday.  Last week included Lord of the Flies by William Golding and I listened to a little bit of that last night.  The downloads aren’t limited to the US, so if you’re an international reader, you should check it out.  I download the books to my computer because that has far more storage space than my phone/audioplayer.

The picture above was taken on my patio table in our screened-in porch.  It has a glass top and I’m forever leaving things under the table and forgetting about them when I take the picture.  In this one you can see my “night splint” that’s supposed to be helping the plantar fasciitis I’ve developed.  I don’t wear it at night, but I do wear it when I can be sitting for a block of time (like writing a blog post or watching the new season of Orange is the New Black).   It’s now late on Thursday night and the crickets and other bugs are being quite loud out here.  The screens are doing their jobs, though.  I have a light on and no bugs!  I’m sure they’re all pressed up against the screen, frustrated.

If you’re in the US, have a safe and happy Independence Day on Saturday!

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yarn Along 2015: Week 26

  1. CraftChick says:

    I’ve tried audiobooks multiple times and it never clicks for me…I read much faster and lose patience with having to wait for the slow narrator! I wish I could learn to love them…it would definitely help my productivity!

Leave a Reply

