Yarn Along 2016: Week 1

Start as you mean to go on, right?  I know I had largely abandoned the blog for months, but I’m hoping to get back into writing again.  It would probably be a good outlet for me.

DSC01410

I’m starting by getting back into the Yarn Along routine.  I’m reading The English Patient by Michael Ondaatje and listening to Saint Mazie by Jami Attenberg.

I’m knitting a Baby Yours by Stephanie Pearl-McPhee for a friend’s new baby.  I’ve finished the sleeves and the back.  Now I’m working on the two front pieces.

I also have a pair of socks on the go.  They’re plain vanilla socks made with Felici sock yarn from Knit Picks in the “Jingle” colorway (not on their site right now – it’s red, green, white stripes).  I started them last year (or the year before??) and stalled out after doing one heel.  While we traveled for winter holidays, I turned the other heel and started up both legs.  Now it’s my “purse” knitting and I work on them in the car or at hockey games.  I managed to get 2 more stripes done while at Thing 1’s games this past weekend.

I’m so thankful that I was a devoted sock knitter for a while.  I’ve been knitting other things lately, but I have this drawer of lovely woolen socks to wear now that winter has decided to arrive.  I really enjoy seeing all the colors lined up in my drawer waiting to keep me warm.

Go check out the Yarn Along – you can see all the great things people are making and the books they are reading!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along 2016: Week 1

  1. itsallaboutpurple says:

    a pretty sweater for a little one. i call my purse knitting “mindless knitting”!!!!

  2. Amy Pass says:

    Beautiful almost-sweater!!! 🙂

  3. carolinehauf says:

    Lovely knitting and a great book!

  4. Pingback: Yarn Along 2016: Week 6 | Digging out of the stash

Leave a Reply

