“If its only a story, it becomes less frightening” or does it?

I read a lot.  My children, generally read a lot.  Sometimes it’s comic books, sometimes it’s weightier stuff, but they do read and occasionally have to be rousted from where they are reading to do other learning.    The three of us also listen to audiobooks pretty regularly.  I’ve been reading  the posts that are part of the “Yarn Along with Ginny” so I can get new book ideas and wanted to finally join in.

I am rereading The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood.  It was originally published in 1985 and I’m sure there were people then thinking “this rings a bit true, in a not-good way.”   I think I read it in the mid-90s.  I’m pretty sure I checked it out of the library when we were living in Connecticut, but I can’t be sure.  We were definitely on the east coast, so it’s pre-2000.  Anyway.  If you’ve seen the movie, you should read the book.  It’s better.   I think it’s more powerful as a book, and thinking about current politics (domestic and international) it just rings far too true.    Interestingly, last week I listened to a small bit on NPR about how some people think that the move toward a paperless society (especially banking) has been foretold in Revelations (chapter 13) and is a sign of the end times.    So, reading about how Offred loses all access to her money, and that they had been using almost no paper money at that time but rather bank cards, which made it easy for the banks and government to deny women access to money?  Well.  It’s kind of hard not to become a conspiracy theorist in the face of everything.

When I feel like a need a lie down or a change from all of that, I’m also listening to Seven Up by Janet Evanovich.  I’ve read all the Stephanie Plum books already.  I tend to choose audiobooks that are “mindless” listening.  It’s okay if I miss something here or there.  I do a lot of young adult fiction via audiobook, too.  I’m not talking literature (and I know there is a LOT of good stuff coming out right now with the YA label), but brain candy.   Like Angus, Thongs and Full Frontal Snogging which is the first book of a wonderfully hysterical series by Louise Rennison.

That knitting up there?  It’s the Milo vest I mentioned in my last post.  I have about 4 inches done under the arms, and I need to get to 7, so things are moving right along.

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “If its only a story, it becomes less frightening” or does it?

  1. Heather says:

    You are speeding right along with your Milo. Yes, there is a lot of this talk in our household. I should probably reread The Handmaid’s Tale, but I may not be ready for more of it right now.

  2. ameyknits says:

    Holy cats I need an editor: “I’m pretty sure I checked it out of the library when we were living in Connecticut, but I can’t be sure.” ??

    I need the underarm to hem to be 8″, and I’m currently at nearly 6, so yay! I need to split my ball of sock yarn, I think so I have something to work on at the Coyotes/Islanders game tomorrow.

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.