Yarn Along 2013: Week 25

I waited until the end of the day to get a Yarn Along picture (initially because I thought we were going to the art museum today and wanted to get a shot there), but because it’s summer, the light is still decent after dinner.

exotic marigolds and latticeNot bad, huh?  Oh, I chose the “large” picture rather than the medium one this time.  If you’re reading and this has made things really slow for you, let me know.  I had been using a smaller picture thinking that there are still people using slower internet connections, but the large ones are definitely easier to see.

This is another square for the Ground Cover project — a lattice stitch this time.  I need to have 10 of these done before we move (ideally – I could work on them during the trip, but it would be great if I didn’t have to mail them).  I need to spend more time knitting.  Instead, I spent today cleaning the playroom, helping Thing 2 pick up the surface and floor beneath his desk, picking up my desk a bit, emptying inactive purses, consolidating some things, and sleeping thru the exterminator’s visit.

In the picture you can see my current “downstairs” book: The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel.  My “upstairs” book is The Penny Pinchers Club.  I have Gods Behaving Badly on my Nook and Are These My Basoomas I See Before Me? as my audiobook.    I found this list (CNN’s hot summer reads) today and added some more things to my Goodreads list.  A couple were already on it, so you Yarn Along people must be ahead of the game.  Before I found Goodreads, and the Yarn Along, and the NoveList tool at my library (all within the last year or so), I would stick with authors I knew or that someone had suggested.  I might branch out into “books that look good on the shelf” and at one point tried some books by authors who’d praised books I liked.  I also read a decent amount of things that had been turned into movies (before I saw the movie).  Having these new sources for ideas has been wonderful – my “to read” list grows long and more diverse and I’m quite thankful for that.

How do you find new books to read?

This entry was posted in Knitting, yarn along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along 2013: Week 25

  1. Liz says:

    I love that stitch! I looks beautiful in that color too. I saw the Best Exotic Marigold Hotel in the theater and loved it. All my favorite actors. 🙂 As far as ideas for books… I write stuff down as I’m
    blogging and then check them out. I noted a couple of yours for future reference. 🙂
    ~Liz

  2. Heather L. says:

    That Novelist that your library subscribes to sounds wonderful! There is just not enough time in the world for reading! And I can go a bit crazy ordering books from the library.

    • ameyknits says:

      I don’t know how big your library system is, but it’s always worth asking if you have access to something similar. I stumbled upon it accidentally one day when someone else at the library had left it up on one of the computers. I’ve used it to help find books for my kids, too, when they get into those “I don’t know what to read next” slumps.

  3. Heather L. says:

    I’m watching All Creatures Great and Small with my kids now and the only unfortunate thing is there is a lot of language (although I’m not noticing as much in the second series). We had a talk about it with the kids and I hope it doesn’t backfire on me. I really don’t think the books have as much language — I will try to take more notice now as I read. My first thought is that they would be appropriate for 12.5 years — I think the stories are quite clean except that you will get vivid descriptions of cow births, etc. Will try to remember to give another opinion when I finish the book.

    • ameyknits says:

      The language would be fine. I’m going to go check the library’s website. He really might enjoy these.

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.