Word for the year

Last year, following the plan of my friend Heather, I chose a word for the year: Prepare.   I’ve been spending some time thinking about a good word for this year.  My first thought was “unpack,” but I didn’t like the sound of that word – it was too abrupt or something.  With Heather’s help, I was able to sort out what I was going for.  SETTLE.

I want to unpack the boxes, establish some new friendships, organize the house, get some better routines set up for the family.  I want to settle in, settle down.

Using this workbook (it’s free) was also helpful.  I’m not terribly good at introspection, and there are still some chunks of it undone (make a map of 2014?), but it was useful and did help me focus a little.   We had a family meeting over dinner last night and discussed a few things that have been annoying me (bedtimes, chores) and we were able to come to some agreements about  them.  Now we just need to work on the actual execution.

Do you pick a word for the year?  What’s yours?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Word for the year

  1. Heather says:

    Switched from immerse to rooted. Seemed to be more what I was looking for and didn’t have connotations of drowning. I like your word and I know this year will bring you more of that feeling. Although we do miss you terribly. Benton suggested we make Nicholas and Daniel muffins. We talked about you a lot – especially your muffins!

  2. Pingback: Yarn Along 2014: Week 12 | Digging out of the stash

Talk to me

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.